About

The Short Story Salon has arrived in the Midlands:

Screen Shot 2013-09-17 at 16.13.48

The Word Factory Leicester 

invites you to

an intimate evening of readings, wine and conversation

hosted by Cathy Galvin and Lindsay Waller-Wilkinson

The Case Restaurant, 4-6 Hotel Street, Leicester, LE15AW

2nd Floor Private Room

Monday October 21st 2013

7 for 7.30-9.30pm

get close to your favourite authors as they read their stories:

Jacob Ross

Jonathan Taylor

Rod Duncan

Alison Moore

The Case – central Leicester’s loveliest space

has table seating and full bar facilities.

Ticket price: £10.00

Please Pre-Book your ticket with Eventbrite–click on the Featured Events Button

Payment will be taken on the door (cash only)

Please contact: Lindsay Waller-Wilkinson with any queries

lindsaywallerwilkinson@gmail.com

Scroll down for full profiles on each of our magnificent inaugural quadrilogy:

Jacob Ross:

Jacob Ross
Jacob Ross

Jacob Ross is the author of two short story collections, Song for Simone, and A Way to Catch the Dust. His novel, Pynter Bender, was short-listed for the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize (2009), Society of Authors ‘Best first Novel’ and ‘Caribbean Review of Books ‘Book of the Year.’ He is Associate Editor for Fiction at Peepal Tree Press and SABLE Literary Magazine and a reader/tutor for The Literary Consultancy. He has Judged the Scott Moncrieff Translation, the VS Pritchett and Tom Gallon prizes. An established tutor of Narrative Craft, he runs writing masterclasses in the UK and abroad. He co-edited Voice, Memory, Ashes; Riding and Rising, andTurf and co-authored with Kwesi Owusu, Behind the Masquerade: The Story of Notting Hill Carnival. In 2006 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2011, he received Grenada’s highest award for his contribution to literature.

Three Books That Have Inspired Me:

  1. Texaco by Patrick Chamoiseau.
    Probably one of the most innovative novels to arrive on the French scene since Céline. A wonderfully sensuous depiction of French Antilleans in particular and humanity at large.
  2. Jazz by Toni Morrison.
    The second in Morrison’s Trilogy set in 1920s Harlem. Formally daring and profound.
  3. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.
    ‘I’ve done my damndest to rip a reader’s nerves to rags,’ said Steinbeck. It took courage and conviction to write this book in 1930s America.

Three Books I Have Enjoyed Reading Recently:

  1. Legend of a Suicide by David Vann.
    Interconnected stories: beautifully written, highly textured and heartfelt. The story, Sukkwan Island shocks.
  2. Seduce by Desiree Reynolds.
    A dead prostitute looks on at her own funeral and comments on the ‘mourners’.
    In the vein of Marlon James’, The Book of Night Women and Zora Neal Hurston’s, Their Eyes were Watching God. Beautiful, transgressive and just as powerful.
  3. The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín.
    The (silenced) mother of Christ tells her story

Jonathan Taylor:

Screen Shot 2013-09-13 at 14.13.19

Jonathan Taylor is a fiction-writer, memoirist, poet, critic, editor and lecturer. He is author of the novel Entertaining Strangers (Salt, 2012), which was shortlisted for the East Midlands Book Award, and the memoir Take Me Home: Parkinson’s, My Father, Myself (Granta Books, 2007). His poetry collection isMusicolepsy (Shoestring, 2013), his short-story collection Kontakte and Other Stories (Roman Books, 2013). He is editor of the anthology Overheard: Stories to Read Aloud (Salt, 2012), winner of the Saboteur Award for Best Fiction Anthology. He is Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at De Montfort University in Leicester, and co-director of arts organisation and small publisher Crystal Clear Creators. Originally from Stoke-on-Trent, he now lives in Leicestershire with his wife, the poet Maria Taylor, and their twin daughters, Rosalind and Miranda.

Three Books That Have Inspired Me:

  1. Blake Morrison, As If.
    The words ‘brave’ and ‘important’ are awfully over-used in the literary world, but how else to describe Blake’s book about the Bolger case and our culture’s treatment of children? ‘To understand is to forgive’ is the ‘brave’ and ‘important’ message here.
  2. Thomas Mann, Death in Venice.
    Some stories are so powerful – without being too Jungian about it, so archetypal – that, retrospectively, they seem like a kind of fable for their culture. Very few ‘fables’ haunt me, and, indeed, my writing like Mann’s – I sometimes find its fossil outline hidden in a story even after I’ve finished writing it.
  3. Charles Dickens, Dombey and Son.
    What can I say? This is what novels should be: not ‘well-crafted’ or ‘polished’ or ‘unified,’ but crazy, grotesque, funny, horrific, poetic, comic, tragic, bathetic, silly, sublime ….

Three Books I Have Enjoyed Reading Recently:

  1. Louis De Bernières, Red Dog and Notwithstanding.
    These are beautifully written stories which are, well, just fun to read. It’s easy for writers of so-called ‘literary fiction’ (and I dislike the term and categorisation) to forget that a writer’s job is, first and foremost, to entertain – and that’s exactly what these stories do.
  2. Jenn Ashworth, The Friday Gospels.
    Which is wonderful for all the reasons and more I gave in my original review of the novel.
  3. Oliver Sacks, Musicophilia.
    Sacks’s work is unfailingly remarkable, shocking, bizarre, and I’ve been deeply affected by it, on a personal as well as a literary level. If fiction writers are (by definition) people who are fascinated by ‘characters,’ this fascination can no longer be just a matter of psychology, but, in the twenty-first century, neurology as well. Writers, that is, need to engage with both the psychological and neurological bases of character.

Rod Duncan:

Rod pic

Rod Duncan writes prose and screenplays. His first novel, Backlash, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasy Dagger in 2003. Breakbeat (2004) and Burnout (2005) completed the trilogy. The Mentalist was published in 2007. His work has been described as showing that “…modern British crime fiction is alive and kicking over the traces.”

Three Books That Have Inspired Me:

  1. Titus Groan – Mervyn Peake
    Sumptuous prose and dark humour pull me back repeatedly to this grotesque fantasy.
  2. Polar Star – Martin Cruz Smith
    A haunting setting and a fascinating protagonist carried along by the geopolitical flood tide. I have yet to read a better crime novel.
  3. Under Milk Wood – Dylan Thomas
    Reading this aloud, I can hear the rhythms of speech from my childhood on the Welsh coast. It always makes me smile.

Alison Moore:

DSC00678 - Version 2

Alison Moore is a novelist and short-story writer. Her first novel, The Lighthouse, was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2012 and in the New Writer of the Year category of the National Book Awards 2012 before going on to win the McKitterick Prize 2013. Her debut collection, The Pre-War House and Other Stories, was nominated for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award 2013. She is an honorary lecturer in the School of English at Nottingham University.

A few recent favourites:

  • Flannery O’Conner – Complete Stories
  • Tony Parker – Lighthouse
  • Kurt Vonnegut – Letters

Alison is currently reading:

  • Lionel Shriver – Big Brother

So as you see, we have an amazing line up for our first event and we do hope you can join us. Take in the pigeon’s eye view of St Martins, enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of tea, chat to our writers and other like minded peeps and we’ll all have a very jolly evening. As much as anything in this life can be guaranteed, this is a cert…

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s